This guide is a listing of various resources regarding pregnancy ranging from library materials, websites, and local and national organizations which help pregnant women.
List of Preparation Steps for Pregnancy - Medline Plus.
https://medlineplus.gov/ency/patientinstructions/000513.htm
According to Medline Plus, there are steps to take when preparing for pregnancy. In this resource, you will discover information and steps to take before you get pregnant. While most women know they will need to see a doctor or midwife and make some lifestyle changes while pregnant, some do not know what is needed to be done before getting pregnant. The steps provided in this resource are a way to prepare yourself and give ideas on what and how you can do them.
Pregnancy - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
https://www.cdc.gov/pregnancy/index.html
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention provides a variety of information for the different stages of pregnancy as well as drug usage, infant illness and more. There are also articles regarding having a healthy pregnancy.
Pregnancy Resources - WebMD
https://www.webmd.com/baby/pregnancy-resources#1
A Resource list of different national organizations geared towards women, infants and children. Topics range from Mother’s health, Diabetes, Lamaze, Cancer, parenting, Baby’s health, genetic disorders, special needs, family services, and child care.
Here at the library we have a variety of databases, but we do have some which could really provide you with any information may want to know regarding pregnancy. This is a list of some of the databases that could help you answer some questions you may have. Of course you are always welcome to ask a Reference Department Staff member to assist you in your research while at the library. Some of these are accessible at home with the use of your library card number.
Gale Ebooks - With this resource you can browse full text articles and chapters from ebooks and encyclopedias. Some keywords you can use to pull up information are: pregnancy, healthy pregnancy, child care, prenatal care. With this resource you can print, email or share these findings with friends. If you need help citing, you can use their citation tool which helps you cite the information in the proper format that you need.
Gale Health and Wellness Health & Wellness Resource Center is your first-stop resource for answers to these and other health-related questions. This resource provides a great variety of resources as you do your search. You will get videos, articles, images, audio, news. This also has the option to provide information in Spanish. Some keyword ideas would be pregnancy, healthy pregnancy, child care, prenatal care.
Gale in Context: Science -This database is more focused on the science of things but it would definitely provide a great amount of information for pregnancy. You can search science, technology by topic or keyword. Some of the materials that you are provided with in results include Academic Journals, images, video, audio, news, and magazines.
EBSCOhost Research Databases
This is a large collection of some of the best databases around. Ranging from ebooks and online journals in every topic imaginable. Just to name a few in this collection: Alt. Health Watch, Biomedical Reference Collection, Health Business, and Health Source.
This is just a small list of book titles we have in our collection. We have more books available for checkout or in ebook form. Please consult staff for further assistance in finding more titles.
The Healthy Pregnancy Journal by 
The Only Pregnancy Book You'll Ever Need by 
Pregnancy and Birth - Everything You Need to Know by 
Pregnancy and Birth: Your Questions Answered by Healthy East Chicago, Inc.
PProvides several different resources not only for pregnancy but other health issues. They offer OB/Gyn. services, Mental Health Services, Nutrition Education, and Health Screenings.
Website: Healthyec.org
Contact email: hec@healthyec.org
East Chicago Division of Family Resources
https://www.in.gov/fssa/dfr/ebt-hoosier-works-card/find-my-local-dfr-office/lake-county/east-chicago-division-of-family-resources/
East Chicago Division of Family Resources
2200 Broadway St.
East Chicago, IN 46312-2224
Telephone/fax: 800-403-0864
Office hours: Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Online Resources :
These are things that can be done online
Apply for benefits online (SNAP, TANF, Medicaid, Hoosier Healthwise, HIP)
Manage current benefits (check status/report a change)
Screening tool (see if you qualify for benefits)
Northwest Indiana Healthy Start - http://www.nwihs.com/
Serves, East Chicago, Gary and Hammond and Lake Station.
Healthy Start is a federally funded program whose goal is to reduce infant deaths and to help women to have healthy babies. The program provides assistance with prenatal care, case management and health education classes. Healthy Start is a program for women before and during pregnancy -- and for a baby's first 2 years. Services are free for residents of East Chicago, Gary, Hammond and Lake Station.
FOR MORE INFORMATION CALL : (219) 989-3939
East Chicago WIC Program
https://www.wicprograms.org/li/east_chicago_wic_program_4631
WICPrograms.org was developed as a helpful directory of WIC program listings along with other helpful Women In Cris Programs. We are not in any way associated with the official WIC Program run by the Federal Government's USDA.
WIC is a program that provides a monthly food package to low-income pregnant, breastfeeding, and postpartum mothers, infants, and children up to age 5, who are considered nutritionally at-risk. This population is particularly vulnerable to the effects of lead in the body, therefore good nutrition is even more important to have. Many foods that are sources of the key nutrients are available through the WIC food package.
WIC also provides personalized nutrition education as a service. Participants are provided with coaching to optimize nutrition for themselves and their families. This is done through one on one sessions in person or by phone, online seminars, and also with group education sessions. This is a great opportunity for learning how to use nutrition as a tool to mitigate the effects of lead in the body.
To apply online visit: https://www.fns.usda.gov/wic
In East Chicago, the WIC office is in the same building where Healthy East Chicago is located.
The address is: 100 W. Chicago Avenue. East Chicago, Indiana 46312
Phone: 219-397-4577
Healthlinc East Chicago
https://healthlincchc.org/services/
Healthlinc is a multiservice clinic that provides different services to the Northwest Indiana Community. One of the locations is in East Chicago. Some of the services available are as follows:
Medical, Dental, Optometry, Behavioral, Pharmacy, Pediatrics, Women’s Health, Community Outreach, Health Insurance Enrollment, Medical Legal Partnership and Mobile Integrated Response teams. Many of these services will help you before, during and after pregnancy as your family grows.
Aside from providing health services, Healthlinc also has videos loaded on the website which help anyone with questions that pertain to pregnancy and health. Visit this site to watch the videos provided and to download a PDF list of safe medications that can be taken during pregnancy: https://healthlincchc.org/pregnancy-tips/
Franciscan Health St. Clare Health Clinic Crown Point
https://www.franciscanhealth.org/find-a-location/franciscan-health-st-clare-health-clinic-crown-point-219404
The Franciscan Health St. Clare Health Clinic is a primary care provider of non-emergency services with an emphasis on prevention, early detection, patient education, physical exams and health screenings. The clinic also serves those who endure hardship to access quality healthcare.
Address: 1121 Indiana Avenue
Crown Point, Indiana 46307
Northshore Clinic
https://northshorehealth.org/
Northshore Health Centers is a non-profit organization which is dedicated to providing quality affordable healthcare to everyone, both insured and uninsured in Lake, Porter and Laporte Counties. There are currently several locations in Northwest Indiana. Services included are: Family Practice, Behavioral Health, OB/GYN, Mammography, 2D Mammography, Tomosynthesis, Pediatrics, Dental, Optometry, Dental, Optometry, Chiropractic, Urgent Care - Saturdays only, 3D/4D Ultrasound, X-Rays, Free Pregnancy testing and Flu shots.
The closest location near East Chicago is the Hammond location.
Hammond NorthShore Health Center Website: https://northshorehealth.org/contact/locations/hammond-northshore-health-center/
1828 165th St
Hammond, IN 46320
(219) 763-8112
(888) 313-8557
Community Health Net Centers
https://chn-indiana.org/
Community HealthNet (CHN) is a not-for-profit community based primary healthcare organization dedicated to providing accessible, affordable quality medical and behavioral health services. Community HealthNet strives to serve the needs of all families and individuals of all income levels in need of medical and behavioral health care, regardless of their ability to pay. There are various locations throughout the Hammond, Gary, and Merrillville area.
Please note that if you need more information than what is in this guide, please do not hesitate to talk to a Reference Staff Member at either East Chicago Library branch. You can call to talk to us or come in to see us. You can also visit our website at www.ecpl.org
ECPL - Main Branch
Address: 2401 E. Columbus Drive
East Chicago, Indiana 46312
Phone Number - (219) 397-2453 extension 12
ECPL - Pastrick Branch
Address: 1008 W. Chicago Avenue
East Chicago, Indiana 46312
Phone Number (219) 397-5505 extension 13
