Each year, Americans observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15 to October 15, by celebrating the histories, cultures and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America.
The observation started in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week under President Lyndon Johnson and was expanded by President Ronald Reagan in 1988 to cover a 30-day period starting on September 15 and ending on October 15. It was enacted into law on August 17, 1988, on the approval of Public Law 100-402.
The day of September 15 is significant because it is the anniversary of independence for Latin American countries Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. In addition, Mexico and Chile celebrate their independence days on September 16 and September18, respectively. Also, Columbus Day or Día de la Raza, which is October 12, falls within this 30 day period.
Source: About Hispanic Heritage Month - Library of Congress.
La·tin·x -
/ˌlaˈtēˌneks,ləˈtēˌneks/
NORTH AMERICAN
noun
a person of Latin American origin or descent (used as a gender-neutral or nonbinary alternative to Latino or Latina).
"the books share stories of the civil rights struggle for African Americans, Latinxs, and LGBTQ people"
adjective
relating to people of Latin American origin or descent (used as a gender-neutral or nonbinary alternative to Latino or Latina).
"a unique Latinx perspective that other shows don't really capture"
Definition from: Oxford Languages
National Hispanic Heritage Month: A Commemorative Observances Legal Research Guide - Since 1968, the U.S. has celebrated a yearly national observance of Hispanic heritage, now called National Hispanic Heritage Month (Sept. 15 – Oct. 15). This guide provides the legislative history, proclamations, and laws related to this celebration. This guide was created by the Library of Congress.
National Archives News; Hispanic Heritage Month - Guide provided by the National Archives that provides information and resources about Hispanic Heritage month.
National Endowment for the Humanities: Hispanic and Latino Heritage and History in the United States - Provides lesson plans, teacher guides and media resources. Provides various resources on this site to be used as Lesson Plans for grades K - 12.
National Park Service : Hispanic Heritage Month - More than 500 years of Hispanic and Latino history and heritage can be found in national parks or shared through National Park Service programs and partners in communities across the country.
Census Bureau - key statistics about the Hispanic population in the U.S.
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month: "Immigrants Are the American Character" - 2016 speech given by President Obama to kick off Hispanic Heritage month in 2016.
Smithsonian Heritage and History Month Events - Calendar of events given by the Smithsonian.
National Museum of the American Latino - On December 27, 2020, legislation passed calling for the Smithsonian to establish the National Museum of the American Latino. The new museum will be the cornerstone for visitors to learn how Latinos have contributed and continue to contribute to U.S. art, history, culture, and science. Additionally, it will serve as a gateway to exhibitions, collections, and programming at other Smithsonian museums, research centers, and traveling exhibition services.
National Council for History Education - contains various types of resources. NCHE is pleased to share this curated list of websites that will inform you and your students as you celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month.
National Education Association - resource with lessons, activities, videos, and more.
History.com - offers a variety of articles and stories that pertain to Latino history.
Teach for America - offers a wonderful variety of resources that range from Afro-Latinos, LGBTQ+ information, immigrants, military and much more.
These are a few Colleges that offered a vast amount of resources for Hispanic Heritage month. If you click on the individual links, it will take you directly to the Libguides that they created with information, resources and more.
Gateway Technical College Libraries: Hispanic Heritage Month
UC Merced Library: National Hispanic Heritage Month
McHenry County College: Hispanic Heritage Month
Mesa Community College: Hispanic Heritage Month
Cal State LA University Library: Hispanic Heritage Month
Illinois Tech: National Hispanic-Latinx Heritage Month
Miami University University Libraries: Hispanic Heritage Month
Foothill College: Latinx Heritage Month