Homeless Shelters, Soup Kitchens, Food Pantries and Housing: Home

Salvation Army East Chicago Service Center
513 West Chicago Avenue
East Chicago, Indiana 46312
Phone: 219-398-2939 - Front Desk
Website: www.salarmyeastchicago.org

Heartline Feeding Program 
Hours: 12:00 - 1:00 PM - Monday - Friday

Description: Provides a free hot meal once a day to community members in need who are living within Northwest Indiana.

• Eligibility: Open
• Fees: None
• Intake Procedure: Walk in and fill out the sign-in sheet
• What to bring: State issued photo ID
• Area Served: East Chicago and Whiting, Indiana
• Hours: Meal served Monday - Friday - Noon - 1:00 pm (CT)
• Languages: English, Spanish
• Services: Soup Kitchen
• Other Services: Food Pantry
• General Relief and Emergency Assistance

Innermission-Gate Church
5670 Sohl Ave.
Hammond, Indiana 46320
Phone: 219-244-2565
Website: www.innermissioninc.com

Description: Offers a free hot meal on weekend mornings to Lake County persons in need.

• Fees: None
• Intake procedure: Walk In
• Hours: Saturday 11:00 am - 12:30 PM (CT)
• Eligibility: Living in Lake County Indiana
• What to bring: Nothing is needed
• Languages: Spanish
• Area served: Lake, Porter, Newton, Jasper, Starke, and Pulaski Counties in Indiana. 
• Services: Soup Kitchens
• Other Services at this location: 
  • Clothing Pantry 
  • Food Pantry

Saints Monica and Luke Church
645 Rhode Island Street
Gary, Indiana 46402
Phone: 219-883-1861
Website: https://stsmonicaluke.org

Soup Kitchen
Description: Provides a weekly soup kitchen to community members in need who are living within Northwest Indiana. 

• Hours: Friday - 12 Noon -1:00 pm (CT)
• Closing information: Open even on holidays
• Eligibility: Living in Lake, Porter, Newton, Jasper, Starke and Pulaski Counties. 
• Intake Procedure: Walk In
• What to bring: Nothing is needed
• Fees: None
• Languages: Spanish
• Areas Served: Lake, Porter, Newton, Jasper, Starke and Pulaski counties in Indiana. 
• Accessibility: Wheelchair accessible
• Services: Soup Kitchens
• Other Services at this location: 
  • Food Pantry, the 3rd Saturday of the month, 10:00 am to 12:00 Noon 

Answer for Pregnancy Aid
705 Colonial Drive
Hobart, Indiana 46342
Phone: 219-947-2272 -  Front Desk
www.standingwithyou.org/resource/the-answer-for-pregnancy-aid/

Description: Offers free pregnancy testing and a variety of pregnancy related counseling and support groups. Provides adoption counseling and referral, maternity clothing, baby clothes (up to size 4T), diapers, formula, and various baby items at no charge.  Offers a limited and donated supply of larger baby items such as car seats, cribs, swings and highchairs also.

• Fees: None
• Intake procedure: Call to schedule an appointment
• What to bring: State Issued Photo ID and client's WIC folder or paperwork
• Hours: First Friday of every month: 12:00 to 2:30 pm
• Closing information: Office is closed on federal holidays
• Eligibility: Pregnant women in need of baby items. 
  * Must provide proof of WIC eligibility.
• Area served: Lake, Porter, LaPorte, Newton, Jasper, Starke and Pulaski counties in Indiana. 
• Services: Adoption counseling and support, baby clothing, child passenger safety seats, family planning, formula/baby food, maternity clothing
• Accessibility: Wheelchair accessible

Women's Center of Northwest Indiana
Gary Location
137 E. 5th Ave.
Gary, Indiana 46402
Phone: 219-881-3000
Website: www.thewc.org
Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday - 9:00 am - 2:00 PM

Description: Provides maternity and baby clothing to women in need. Availability is dependent on donations. Supplies may be limited.

• Eligibility: Living in Jasper, Lake, Newton, or Porter County 
  Expectant mother or women with infants
• Fees: None
• Intake procedure: Call to request clothing assistance; walk-ins not accepted.
• What to bring: Photo ID
• Area served: Jasper, Lake, Newton, and Porter County
• Hours: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 am - 2:00 pm
• Languages: English
• Services: Baby Clothing, Maternity Clothing
• Other services at this location: Family Planning

Homeless Shelters are programs that provide a temporary place to stay (approximately 3 days to 2 weeks) in dormitory style facilities with little privacy for those who do not have permanent housing.  Included in this program are vouchers for motels for homeless people.  This section will provide information of local homeless shelter programs. 

Calumet Township Trustee Multipurpose Center
1900 West 41st Avenue
Gary, Indiana 46408
Phone: 219-880-4904 - Shelter 
Website: www.calumettwp-in.gov

Description: Provides temporary emergency housing for single women and women with children. Support services include housing search assistance and referrals to community resources.  Operates as an emergency warming center during the winter, offering temporary shelter when it is too cold for seniors to stay in their homes all day.  Serves as an overnight shelter as well. 

• Fees:  None
• Hours: Daily 24 hours
• Eligibility: Living in the Calumet Township Area of Lake County. 
• Intake Procedure: Call or walk in
• What to bring: Please call for details
• Languages: English
• Services: Homeless Shelter, Homeless Shelter for Cold Weather
• Shelters/Warming Centers
• Accessibility: Wheelchair accessible
• On Site Parking
• Other services - Recreation Center

Grace Beyond Borders 
Founded in 2013, by Marcus Martin, Grace Beyond Borders NWI, Inc., is a 501(c)(3) organization that meets the physical and spiritual needs of those impacted by homelessness and drug addiction. Providing food, long-term housing, and a safe space to help those get back on their feet, Grace Beyond Borders provides resources for a hand up and not a hand out. As a program to end homelessness, life-changing services are given to transform and restore lives.

Critical Care: Onsite Meals for Guests, Emergency Shelter for Women, Emergency Shelter for Women with Children

Address: 1207 E. Chicago Ave
                 P.O. Box 927
                 East Chicago, Indiana 46312

Phone: (219) 712-5192
Website:    http://www.gracebeyondborders.org/
Email:    mmminc53@gmail.com

Hammond City Rescue Mission
527 State Street 
Hammond, IN 46320

Phone: 219.932.5085 Homeless Services
https://cityoutreachfoundation.com/

Description: Serves as a temporary place to stay for nearly 50 men daily, providing meals and access to job training and counseling. Offers unemployed residents jobs to do around the church. Requires residents of the rescue mission attend church services in order to have meals in the facility and remain in the mission.

• Eligibility: Men Only
• Fees: None
• What to bring: State issued photo ID
• Hours: Mon-Sun 4:30 pm-7 am CT
• Intake procedure: Call or walk in to begin application process
• Languages: Spanish
• Services: Homeless Shelter
• Accessibility: Wheelchair accessible
• Must be physically able to work in order to remain in the mission
• Residents of the shelter are required to attend church services 

Missionaries of Charity Shelter
509 West Ridge Road
Gary, Indiana 46408
Phone: 219-884-2140 - Front Desk

Missionaries of Charity Shelter
Operates an emergency shelter for women, with or without children (male children must be younger than 5 years old to stay).  Clients are transported to the Sojourner Truth Day Center on Monday-Thursday during the day for supportive services including a noon meal, life skills instruction, health assessments, help with finding housing, and providing referrals to other agencies that may be able to help meet their needs. 

• Eligibility: Homeless women 18 and up and their children.
  *Male children must be younger than 5 to stay.
• Fees: None
• Hours: Monday - Wednesday: 8:30 am - 9:30 am (CT); 3:30 - 5:00 pm (CT)
• Intake procedure: Call to begin the application process
• What to bring:  Paperwork does vary. Please call ahead for details
• Languages: Spanish
• Area served: Lake County, Indiana
• Services: Homeless Shelter
• Accessibility: Wheelchair accessible

Food Bank of Northwest Indiana Lake County Distribution
6490 Broadway
Merrillville, IN 46410
Phone: 219-980-1777
Website: www.foodbanknwi.org

Food Bank of Northwest Indiana Lake County Distribution
Description: Distributes USDA commodities and donated/purchased food items to qualified charitable organizations in Lake County, Indiana.  Provides referrals to other agencies that can distribute food items as well. 

• Eligibility: None
• Fees: None
• Intake Procedure: Call or email if interested in making a donation
• What to bring: None
• Hours: Monday - Friday: 8:00 am - 4:30 PM (CT)
• Closing Information: Office is closed on federal holidays
• Services: Food Banks/ Food Distribution Warehouses, Food Donation Programs
• Overview: Offers a varied food program to individuals in need living in Northwest Indiana. 
• Accessibility: Wheelchair Accessible
  • Other Services:
    Food for Seniors
    Adult Education/ Computer Class

MOBILE MARKET - Listing of Mobile Market Schedule 

This program directly serves individuals and families in areas where additional food assistance is needed. Mobile Marketplace travels to a different community each week, distributing approximately 40-50 pounds of healthy food/groceries to individuals and families across the Region. Mobile Market serves about 250 households each Wednesday, 550 households every other Friday/Saturday from our 6490 location, and about 300 households every other Saturday from a Porter County location. 

Food Bank Partner Agency Listings - The Food Bank of Northwest Indiana works with more than 100 food pantries and soup kitchens to distribute food to Lake and Porter County residents. Use the links below to download a complete list of Partner Agencies by city/region, including hours of operation and contact information. Due to holidays or emergency closures, individuals are encouraged to call ahead to confirm the time and date of the pantry and receive additional information prior to visiting.

**Please be advised that these lists undergo frequent changes. We will do our best to keep them up-to-date and accurate, but recommend always calling in advance of visiting a partner agency.**

For additional information on food assistance in Northwest Indiana, please contact the Food Bank at 219.980.1777.
 

Pantry & Soup Kitchens/ Food Bank Partnerships.
The Food Bank of Northwest Indiana partners with more than 100 agencies including pantries, soup kitchens day care centers and after-school programs to serve our hungry neighbors. Please use the LOCATOR MAP to find a food pantry or soup kitchen near you. Contact information is provide to confirm hours of distribution and residency requirements.

In addition to the pantries and soup kitchens on the MAP, the following Day Care Centers and After-School Programs offer food assistance for children. Please call for more information.

GREATER WORKS PRAYER (Day Care & After-School) | 219.852.0677
5127 Hohman Avenue | Hammond

LITTLE DREAMERS (Day Care) | 219.980.9333
5201 Broadway | Merrillville

NEW BEGINNINGS OUTREACH (Day Care) | 219.881.9660
2480 Broadway Avenue | Gary

FIRST UNITED METHODIST (After-School) | 219.932.5915
6635 Hohman Avenue | Hammond

Salvation Army East Chicago Service Center
513 West Chicago Avenue
East Chicago, Indiana 46312
Phone: 219-398-2939 - Front Desk
Website: www.salarmyeastchicago.org

Salvation Army East Chicago Service Center Food Pantry
Description: Provides a weekly food pantry for community members in need living within East Chicago and Whiting, Indiana.
Individuals can utilize the food pantry once every 30 days. 

• Eligibility: Residents of Whiting or East Chicago, Indiana
• Fees: None
• Intake procedure: Call to schedule an appointment
• What to bring: Proof of address (utility bill, rent receipt) is required for the pantry. State Issued photo ID
• Area served: East Chicago and Whiting, indiana
• Hours: Pantry Hours: Monday - Thursday 9:00 am - 11:00 am (CT) ; by appointment only
• Languages: English
• Services: Food Pantries
• Other Services at this location:
  Food/Heartline Feed Program
  General Relief/ Emergency Assistance

East Chicago Housing Authority
4920 Larkspur Drive.
East Chicago, Indiana 46312
Phone: 219-397-9974 - Front Desk
Website:www.echa-in.org

Description: Administers the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher program, a federal assistance program that helps very low income families with their monthly rental costs.  There is currently a waiting list for voucher holders. This waiting list is currently Closed to new applications. 

• Eligibility: Household income may not exceed 50% of the median income for the City of East Chicago
  • Other eligibility requirements are based on applicants' family composition, income level and assets. 
  • Preference is given according to the housing needs and priorities of all waiting list applicants. 
  • Preference is given to East Chicago residents
  • By law 75% of vouchers must be given to applicants whose incomes do not exceed 30% of the area median income
• Fees: Participants pay 30-40% of their total household income. 
  • Program Participants pay a percentage of their total household income towards rent and utilities, and the Housing Authority pays the difference directly to the property's landlord. 
  • The landlord determines which if any utilities are included in the monthly rent. 
• Intake procedure: The waiting list is currently CLOSED to new applicants. 
  • When the Section 8 waiting list is opened to new applicants, details on how to apply will be placed on the agency's website as well as in the classified sections for housing in all local papers.
  • Applications are limited and are distributed on a first come, first served basis. 
• What to bring: Call for details
• Area served: Lake County, Indiana
• Hours: Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm CT
• Languages: English
• Services: Housing Authorities, Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers

Northwest Indiana Community Action
5240 Fountain Drive
Crown Point, Indiana 46307
Phone: 219-794-1829 - Front Desk
Website: www.nwi-ca.org

Description: Serves as an application and recertification site for the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program in Lake, Porter, Newton, Jasper, Starke, LaPorte and Pulaski County, Indiana. Housing Choice vouchers help eligible households pay the rent on privately owned homes of their choosing (property owners must agree to program participation).  The wait list for Housing Choice Vouchers in these counties are currently Closed. 

• Hours: Office Hours: Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
• Closing information: Office closed on federal holidays
• Eligibility: When the wait list is open, income guidelines will be posted
• Intake procedure: No applications are available at this time
• What to bring: Photo ID for the head of household is required at the time the application is submitted
• Fees: None to apply; voucher recipients pay a percentage of their monthly income for rent and utilities
• Languages: Spanish
• Area served: Lake, Porter, Newton, Jasper, Starke and Pulaski County, Indiana. 
• Services: Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers
• Accessibility: Wheelchair accessible