This guide will contain books, databases, websites, and local information which has the ability to help anyone who is seeking more information about cancer.
This is just a short list of books available. East Chicago Public Library has other titles available for checkout.
100 Questions and Answers about Liver Cancer by 
Breast Cancer Sourcebook by 
The Breast Cancer Survival Manual by 
Healing Your Grieving Heart after a Cancer Diagnosis by 
Johns Hopkins Patients' Guide to Pancreatic Cancer by 
Surviving Triple-Negative Breast Cancer by 
The Whole-Food Guide for Breast Cancer Survivors by Gale eBooks
Browse full-text encyclopedias on a variety of topics. Print, email or share articles with friends, and GVRL’s Citation Tool helps you cite the article correctly for your research paper. Useful source to find more information on cancer types and treatments.
Gale Health and Wellness
Health & Wellness Resource Center is your first-stop resource for answers to these and other health-related questions.
Gale in Context - Science
Search science related articles by keyword or subject. Your findings are also shareable.
Inspire
A collection of online academic databases and other information resources that can be accessed by Indiana residents for free. There are health and medical related databases in this collection that could help obtain more information related to cancer and treatments.
These websites provide information on some alternative treatments for cancer patients
Alternative Cancer Treatments - 10 options to consider
https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/cancer/in-depth/cancer-treatment/art-20047246
Provided by the Mayo Clinic Staff, a list of 10 alternative treatments for cancer that are generally safe to try. It stated, “Alternative cancer treatments may not play a direct role in curing your cancer, but they may help you cope with signs and symptoms caused by cancer and cancer treatments. Common signs and symptoms such as anxiety, fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain, difficulty sleeping, and stress may be lessened by alternative treatments.”
Six Cancer Fighting Herbs and Spices!
https://www.mhs.net/news/2016/09/cancer-fighting-herbs-and-spices
Article from Memorial Healthcare System in Florida discusses 6 herbs and spices that may help to fight against cancer and keep you in good health by giving a boost to the immune system.
Complementary and Alternative Medicine - American Cancer Society
https://www.cancer.org/treatment/treatments-and-side-effects/complementary-and-alternative-medicine.html
The American Cancer Society provides definitions and terms of things pertaining to cancer and cancer treatments. This link provides definitions and information about complementary and alternative medicine for treating cancer. This organization is very useful to help answer questions you may have about cancer.
Cancer Resource Centre
https://www.myccrf.com/about-us/cancer-resource-centre/about-us
Located in Munster, the Cancer Resource Centre helps those affected by cancer obtain the support and resources they need to cope with the diagnosis. A comfortable setting awaits visitors who wish to review educational materials, gather to meet in a social setting, attend special events or classes, or come together in a professionally-led group for support. The Centre offers patients and their families a non-medical place where they can come to celebrate life, deal with hardships and get their questions answered.
Address: 926 Ridge Road. Munster, IN 46321
Phone: (219) 836-3349
Wig Bank Program
Provides free wigs to cancer patients experiencing hair loss due to cancer treatments. This program is especially intended for those who do not have insurance or whose insurance will not cover the cost of a wig. National 24 hour helpline: 800-227-2345. Hours: Local Office: Mon-Fri 8:30am-5pm
Cancer Patient Medical Transportation
Provides cancer patients with free ground transportation to treatment centers and doctor appointments. This service is provided by trained volunteers. Advance notice of four business days is required.
Phone: 800-227-2345
Northwest Indiana Cancer Kids Foundation
https://nwicancerkids.org/
Northwest Indiana Cancer Kids (N.I.C.K.) is a 501c3 charity that was founded by a childhood cancer family who live right here in the area. Our organization was started based on our personal journey with childhood cancer.
American Cancer Society - Northwest Indiana
https://www.cancer.org/about-us/local/indiana.html
A national nonprofit agency that funds cancer research programs and provides patient services, early detection, and education and prevention programs as an effort to eliminate cancer as a major health problem.
Address:
130 RED COACH DRIVE
MISHAWAKA, IN 46545
Phone: 800.227.2345
The American Cancer Society Hope Lodge® program can offer families a free place to stay when cancer treatment is given far from home. Contact us to find out if there’s a Hope Lodge location near your treatment center.
Get Well Gabby
https://getwellgabby.org/
The Get Well Gabby Foundation was founded in 2012 with a passion and courage to fight for a cure for Childhood Cancer in memory of Gabriella Vogel. Mission: To raise money for childhood brain cancer research to help find a cure.
To assist in the care and well being of children and their families battling childhood cancer. To provide resources for families navigating the cancer world so they may have the opportunity to stay with their child during their journey. To spread awareness of all childhood cancers. To BELIEVE we will find a cure.
Healthcare Hospitality Network
This group of nearly 200 non-profit organizations throughout the US provides free or low-cost family-centered lodging to families getting medical treatment far from home. You can call 1-800-542-9730 or check online at www.hhnetwork.org to see if there’s a location that works for you.
Mercy Medical Angels provides cost-effective charitable transportation for patients. This organization partners with volunteers, along with private or commercial transportation providers. To find out if you are eligible for this service, you can find more information online at mercymedical.org .
Help with Food Costs - National Hunger Hotline
Some government programs help with food or food costs for low-income people. The programs listed below are from the US Department of Agriculture (although some are run by states) for different groups of people, and offer food help in different ways. Some families may qualify for more than one type of help. For more information about these programs, call the National Hunger Hotline at 1-866-348-6479 (1-866-3-HUNGRY); for Spanish, call 1-877-842-6273. Or visit www.networks.whyhunger.org/.
CancerCare's Online Helping Hand
CancerCare’s Online Helping Hand at www.cancercare.org/helpinghand is a searchable, online database of financial and practical assistance available for people with cancer. This comprehensive online tool features up-to-date contact information and descriptions for hundreds of national and regional organizations offering financial help to people with cancer. You can search by diagnosis, zip code and type of assistance.
A number of nonprofit organizations provide help for expenses such as drug co-payments, deductibles, and other medical costs. these programs have their own eligibility rules and may cover only certain cancers. contact each organization to learn more. Below is a list of various organizations geared to help patients and families.
CancerCare Co-Payment Assistance
Foundation
Phone: 866-55-COPAY (6729)
www.cancercarecopay.org
Good Days
Phone: 877-968-7233
www.mygooddays.org
HealthWell Foundation
Phone: 800-675-8416
www.healthwellfoundation.org
The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Co-Pay Assistance Program
Phone: 877-557-2672
www.lls.org/copay
National Organization for Rare Disorders
Phone: 800-999-6673 (Voice mail only)
Phone: 203-744-0100
www.rarediseases.org
Patient Access Network Foundation
Phone: 866-316-7263
www.panfoundation.org
Patient Advocate Foundation Co-Pay Relief Program
Phone: 866-512-3861
www.copays.org
Patient Services Incorporated
Phone: 800-366-7741
www.patientservicesinc.org
Please note that if you need more information than what is in this guide, please do not hesitate to talk to a Reference Staff Member at either East Chicago Library branch. You can call to talk to us or come in to see us. You can also visit our website at www.ecpl.org
ECPL - Main Branch
Address: 2401 E. Columbus Drive
East Chicago, Indiana 46312
Phone Number - (219) 397-2453 extension 12
ECPL - Pastrick Branch
Address: 1008 W. Chicago Avenue
East Chicago, Indiana 46312
Phone Number (219) 397-5505 extension 13
