African-American Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations by 
African Americans and Civil Rights by 
The Black History of the White House by 
Black History Resource Book by 
Encyclopedia of African American Writing by This is a sample listing of some of the Black History related movie Titles available through East Chicago Public Library
ABDO Biographies - geared towards young readers, ABDO Biographies has 160 compelling biographies to choose from. Young readers will learn about the lives of important people and their contributions.
Gale in Context - Biographies - Includes over 4,500 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Biography in Context offers authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers
Gale eBooks - Browse full-text encyclopedias on a variety of topics. Print, email or share articles with friends, and GVRL’s Citation Tool helps you cite the article correctly for your research paper.
Hoopla - Instantly download and stream eBooks, audiobooks, comics and movies to your tablet or phone. Library card holders can check out up to six titles per month.
NoveList Plus - Are you looking for your next favorite author? No matter what you like to read, NoveList Plus has reader recommendations for every type of book. Audiobooks and non-fiction recommendations are also included.
NoveList K-8 Plus - Similar to NoveList Plus except it is geared towards the younger reader. Recommends books, eBooks, and audiobooks. Find your next read!
OverDrive - Books on the Go! Instantly download the latest eBooks and audiobooks to your tablet or phone. Titles are automatically returned to the system after the loaning period is over, so there are never any late fees. With OverDrive you can also search for your next read based on Genre and more.
Worldcat - Instantly search every Indiana public catalog in the state, all at once. WorldCat helps you find who owns the book, CD, DVD, or magazine article you are looking for.
ProQuest African American Heritage offers the ability to search essential historical records for African Americans, including federal census, marriage and cohabitation records, military draft and service records, registers of slaves and free(d) persons of color, Freedman’s Bank, and more.
Ancestry allows you to discover your unique family history! This resource includes billions of records from around the world, including the U.S., U.K., and Canadian census and vital records, immigration and passport records, periodical and books, photos and more.
Please note: Ancestry can only be freely accessed through a computer in one of our libraries. To access Ancestry at home, it would require you to pay to subscribe to the service.
A to Z Food America - A to Z Food America is a database unlike any other on the market today. From regional cookbooks to an exploration of immigrant culinary influences, from fun collections of historic cookbooks and television commercials to “how to” food preparation videos, A to Z Food America has something sure to educate and entertain everyone.
Fold3 provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. The records at Fold3 help you discover and share stories about these everyday heroes, forgotten soldiers, and the families that supported them. On Fold3, you can combine records found on the site with what you have in your own albums and shoeboxes to create an online memorial for someone who served.
Heritage Quest - Search U.S. Census records back to 1790, and email those records at the touch of a button. Heritage Quest also lets you search city directories, selected records from the Revolutionary War, and the Freedman’s Bank, which was founded to serve African Americans
